My Job Is To Love, Not To Judge”: Erica Campbell Shares Thoughts On LGBT Community


Erica Campbell Shares Thoughts On LGBT Community

Source: WENN

 

 | Madame Hoire | Yahoo News | November 23, 2015

seems like these days, people are extremely interested to learn what different gospel artists think about the LGBT community. First, there was Tye Tribbett who said he didn’t condemn homosexuality. Then there was Donnie McClurkin who spoke out against the Supreme Court legalizing gay marriage. And most recently, there was Kirk Franklin who apologized to the LGBT community for the way the church has abused and mistreated members of the community over the years.

Now, it’s turn. In a recant round-table style interview, Team Curtains asked Campbell, ” What are your thoughts on transsexuals and gays in the gospel music and church today?”

Here’s what she had to say.

“I believe sin is sin and it exists and God forgives it just like everything else. I think our responsibility is to keep singing about Jesus. Keep telling the world that he loves and saves, transforms and heals. I know there’s a lot of different conversations about the origins, and the whys and the hows, and I wish I had the answers to but I do not.

But what I do know is the Bible said, “For God so loved the world…” It didn’t say the heterosexual or the homosexual, it didn’t say the Christian, the saved or the unsaved. It said, “For God so loved the world that He gave his only son that whosoever shall believe in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.” So that’s the only thing I can stay confident in. I rest on the word of God. I stand on the word of God. And we will all stand before Him and God won’t ask me my opinion. He won’t ask the people their opinion. They will have a one-on-one with the Father.

And so, I think we should keep singing, keep sharing, keep loving, keep opening the doors of our churches, keep embracing and let God do the changing. I think a lot of times, we try to be God and we try to make the change. Everybody has an issue. Sometimes people’s is a little more flamboyant than others. Maybe yours is lying and we can’t see your issue. You know what I mean? But we all have something to work on. And I think–yeah, that’s my feeling. My job is to love not to judge. God will do that part.”

Her response is being reported as intolerant. Naturally, people will take issue with her calling the homosexual lifestyle sin. People who believe everything in the Bible are likely to agree with that sentiment. What I found most important though is that she called for people to love and quoted scripture that says God would grant everlasting life to those who believe in Him. Period.

Read more

Leave a Reply

