Police threaten Nigerian gay teen with torture for looking feminine


Tris Reid-Smith | Gay Star News | December 11, 2015

A 19-year-old gay Nigerian was stopped on the street and threatened with an anal probe test by police, just because he looked feminine.

Delle told GSN his story today as Nigerian activists mark International Human Rights Day (10 December) by calling for a free and equal country.

The gay teen lives in Lagos, the Nigerian capital, and is not out to his family.

He told us: ‘I was heading to the bank one day in October to get some money for my dad in Mainland Lagos [one of the city’s key districts].

‘There were four police and they stopped me in the street. They said I was feminine and so they immediately suspected I was gay. I don’t dress feminine but from my voice and my mannerisms I am.

Read more

Leave a Reply

