Ex-Gay Activist, Blogger Matt Moore Admits To Grindr Profile


Dan Avery | Queerty | Feburary 5, 2013

Last week we got an email from a reader who claimed to have seen ex-gay  activist Matt Moore on grindr, and attached a screencap of what appeared to be  Moore’s profile. Knowing how easy it would be to steal someone’s photo, we  emailed the source for more information.

We didn’t hear back but, this week, blogger Zinnia  Jones reached out to Moore, who confirms the account is his.

He tells Jones:

The grindr profile was really mine. I’ve been on it on and off for the last  couple of weeks.

Like I told the guy who sent you the picture, I am wrong in having been on  grindr. I haven’t changed my views on homosexuality, the Bible, etc.

Creating a grindr profile and talking to guys on it was major disobedience on  my part….disobedience to Christ. Disobedience to a loving and gracious God.  Thankfully, I believe that He forgives me for this disobedience. I believe the  blood of Christ covers this disobedience. And I won’t be on grindr  again….ever.

The pastor of my church and the church body I am a part of were informed  about me being on grindr (I told them) before all of this came out,  publicly.

Look, Matt Moore isn’t some guy quietly dealing with his own personal  struggle against what he thinks is sin. He’s a professional ex-gay: He blogs  about his “coming out of the homosexual lifestyle,” gets interviewed by nutbag  Christian websites and radio shows, and helps organize things like the  Overcoming Same-Sex Attraction conference. It doesn’t seem as if Moore is  the victim of some repressive environment: On his blog, he reveals his family  is  confused by his ex-gay stance, and that some friends have stopped talking to  him.

Read more

Leave a comment